AR. CR Raju is the new president of The Indian Institute of Architects (IIA)

Ar. CR Raju

Ar. CR Raju is the new President of the Indian Institute of Architects (IIA), the national body of architects in the country. He has taken charge along with a new team of office bearers for the term 2020-2022. IIA has a rich legacy, sustained over a century, in its service to the fraternity and society. Many stalwarts have contributed through their sustained work and passion for its growth. IIA was instrumental in bringing about The Architects Act 1972 which has facilitated the spread of Architectural Education and Practice in India.

Established in 1917, the Institute today has more than 20,000 members and plays a major role in promoting the profession of architecture by organizing and uniting the Architects of India to promote aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession both in Practice and in Education. IIA is represented on various national and international committees connected with architecture, art, and the building industry and is also actively associated with the International Union of Architects (UIA) Commonwealth Association of Architects (CAA), and South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation of Architects (SAARCH).

Ar. CR Raju brings over 40 years of professional expertise with projects ranging from Residential Bungalows, Apartments, Group Housing, Commercial, Institutional, Recreational, Hospitality, Healthcare, Industrial and Interiors. In his illustrious career, he has won many awards and recognition including the IIA Outstanding Member Award for the year 2014. He has also held various leadership positions with IIA and also was a Senate member of the Madurai Kamaraj University. He was the Chairman of Tamil Nadu Chapter of IIA from 2013-2015, convener for the prestigious IIA National Awards 2016 and convener of IIA NATCON Transcend 2020.  

“We have the vision to uphold the dignity of the profession to enhance the membership experience of IIA to make it into a progressive and inclusive organisation reflecting the aspirations of the fraternity in its resolve to spread awareness amongst the society for its benefit. We are initiating a number of programmes during this term that will give a sense of participation and contribution to the members apart from deliberations on key issues that influence government policy. On the whole, we would strive to make the Institute responsive to the needs of a safe and sustainable built environment” says Ar. CR Raju, President, Indian Institute of Architects. 

The office bearers for the term 2020-2022 are Ar. Vilas Avachat, Vice President, Ar. Jitendra Mehta, Junior Vice President, Ar. Shekhawat Gyanendra Singh Treasurer, Ar. Leena Kumar, Ar. Satish Mane and Ar. Ashutosh Kumar Agarwal as the Joint Honorary Secretaries. The Council members are Ar. Deepak Deshpande, Ar. Debatosh Sahu, Ar. Agarwal Virendra Kumar, Ar. Azmi Sarosh Wadia, Ar. Akshay Kumar Beuria, Ar. Brijesh Shaijal PK, Ar. Manguesh Prabhugaonker, Ar. Ranee ML Vedamuthu, Ar. Koppula Muralidhar Reddy and Ar. Rajeev Taishete.

The regional representatives on the Council of Architecture for the term 2020-2023 are Ar. Abhijith Shirodkar for the Western Region, Ar. Punit Sethi for the Northern Region, Ar. Lalichan Zacharias for the Southern Region, Ar. Amitava Roy for the Eastern Region and Ar. Navin Sharma for the Central Region. Ar. Lalichan Zacharias is appointed as the Chairman of Publication Board.