Government implementing Rs 320-crore project for 5 ports to enable digital ecosystem.

The government is implementing a Rs 320-crore project for five major ports in order to provide a digital port ecosystem, according to the Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways. 
These ports are Mumbai, Chennai, Deendayal, Paradip, and Kolkata (including Haldia).

The system will adopt international best practices without losing its alignment to existing local needs, it added.

A total of 2,474 processes were rationalized, harmonized, optimized, and standardized to arrive at a final re-engineered process count of 162 processes, it said.

In addition, a centralized web-based port community system (PCS) has been operationalized across all major ports which enables seamless data flow between various stakeholders through a common interface.

To move towards the complete paperless regime, E-DO (electronic delivery order) through PCS has been made mandatory along with e-invoicing and e-payment, it said.

The major ports in the country have an installed capacity of 1,534.91 MTPA (million tonnes per annum) as of March 2020 and handled traffic of 704.92 MT during 2019-20.

India has 12 major ports - Deendayal (erstwhile Kandla), Mumbai, JNPT, Mormugao, New Mangalore, Cochin, Chennai, Kamarajar (earlier Ennore), VO Chidambaranar, Visakhapatnam, Paradip, and Kolkata (including Haldia).